Review: ‘Heartless’ by Marissa Meyer

0

Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Purchase: Available to pre-order in the US and the UK

Overall Rating: 4/5

Great For: Fans of Alice in Wonderland and The Lunar Chronicles

Themes: YA, Fantasy, Fairy-Tales



https://www.instagram.com/p/BMbd3Erj7F4/

Review:

‘Before she was the Queen of Hearts, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.’

From the best-selling author of The Lunar Chronicles comes Marissa Meyer’s new book: Heartless. Heartless is based off the well-known book Alice In Wonderland. Marissa has used her writing talents well and created a whole new world for everyone to indulge in.

All Catherine – Lady Pinkerton – ever wanted was to own a bakery with her best friend and maid Mary Ann but that’s not entirely what her parents want, her parents wish for her to marry the King of Hearts and become the Queen of Hearts. That’s all her mother has wanted for her and she wasn’t going to stop until that’s exactly what happens. The story starts at the Kings party where he is planning on proposing to Catherine, her mother is aware of this and does everything to make her daughter stand out in the Black and White ball by insisting she wear a red gown, not knowing what her mother is up to Catherine arrives to the ball seeing that it’s Black and White and she quickly realises what her mother had planned but not all balls go to plan to they? Of course not.

Enter Jest. The new Court Joker. He’s arrived out of nowhere and no one has ever seen or heard of him before, until he turns up that night appearing at the Ball. Catherine knows it’s him she wants and not the King, Jest is mysterious and she wants to get to know him.

All is not what it seems at the ball as the famous Jabberwock appears destroying the ball and everything in its way and that’s when things go from bad to worse, but not necessarily for Lady Pinkerton as this has saved her from accepting the Kings Proposal, her mother, however, is determined to make it happen.

Throughout the story, the King of Hearts is determined to marry Catherine and make her the Queen of Hearts whereas Catherine’s determined to make her dream of owning a bakery come true..she just needs her parent’s permission, but will Marchioness and Marquess allow that to happen? Their daughter – Lady Pinkerton – the one they wish to marry the King become the owner of a bakery?

As the story moves on you learn that Jest – the Court Joker – begins to work for the King to Catherine’s relief as it means she can see him more often, except the King is always there, not exactly the way she wants to spend time with Jest, he is the one she wants after all.

Throughout the book, Marissa brings in the well-loved characters of the Cheshire Cat and Hatta, she’s portrayed the characters so well putting her own twist on the entire book. If you loved The Lunar Chronicles and Alice in Wonderland you’ll love this one.

Featured image source

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.