52 Pep Talks for Writers: Become the best by learning from the best

What better way to kick off preptober than with writing lessons from the Nanowrimo creator himself, Grant Faulkner.

0

United By Pop received a free copy of 52 Pep Talks for Writers in exchange for an honest review, all opinions are our own.

This post contains affiliate links.

Title: 52 Pep Talks for Writers

Author: Grant Faulkner

Purchase: Available in the UK and the US

Overall rating: 5/5



Great for: Fans of Sol Stein, Stephen King, and Ray Bradbury

Themes: Non-fiction, how-to

Spending my day poring over this insightful little volume. With #nanowrimo fast approaching, and with this year hopefully being the one where I finally complete the first draft of my wip, this couldn't have come to me at a better time. As the title suggests, this features 52 short essays to kick-start creativity and motivate your writer's mojo and is suitable for any writer on any stage of their creative journey. #preptober has officially begun! #nanowrimoseries . . #nanowrimo2017 #grantfaulkner #52peptalksforwriters #writer #writing #igwrite #igwriter #igwriters #igwriting #instawrite #instawriter #instawriters #instawriting #writerofig #writersofig #writerofinstagram #writersofinstagram #bookstagram #bibliophile #bookish #book #books #currentlyreading #currentread #booksbooksbooks #bookishflatlay #bookishfeatures

A post shared by Dannii Elle (@dannii.elle.reads) on

Review: It is almost my favourite time of year. Not Christmas, not Halloween, but Nanowrimo!

Every November thousands of individuals, across the globe, take part in a month-long challenge to each write 50,000 words of their current work in progress. This has become known as National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo. This is not only a hugely popular online phenomenon but has a slew of well-known and best-selling authors – including Donna Tartt, Victoria Schwab, and Erin Morgenstern – who have cited NaNoWriMo as the place where they honed their craft and completed their manuscripts.

So, with just one month left to prepare until this year’s event kicks off, I am in need of all the help I can get! And help comes in no better form than a book penned by the NaNoWriMo creator himself, Grant Faulkner.

’52 Pep Talks for Writers’ does exactly as the title suggests. This features 52 short essays to kick-start creativity and motivate your writer’s mojo, and is suitable for any writer on any stage of their creative journey. This is a complete guide to mentally motivating yourself for the chaotic month to come but, with timelessly solid advice suitable for any creative individual, this is also a good resource to be pored over at any time of the year.

This handy book’s universal appeal is furthered by the broad topics covered inside this relatively short but waffle-free guide. Gathered is a wide range of insights and advice for writers at any stage of their career and featured is a plethora of handy tips for writers on any stage of their manuscripts.

Not only is this hugely helpful, but it is also a great physical asset to your bookshelves. This slim volume is full of fully-coloured and glossy pages that retain your focus by its use of illustration, bold text and vivid shades. With nothing to fault and a lot to gain, this is a book that should be packed into any writer’s arsenal.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.